Rainy season in Cotonou

There’s not that much happening while I am at work but there’s still plenty to write about. For example there was a torrential rain at lunchtime today. It started rain soon after I got to the canteen and it didn’t stop for an hour. Proper rain. By the time it was finished the roads on the office grounds had turned into rivers and we couldn’t walk back so the company cars had to come pick us up.  It was a treat; I miss those big summer rains that I grew up with as a child back in Bulgaria. I was comfortably sat and dry and I thought it was quite romantic just sitting there watching the rain. All that was missing was a hammock.

View over the rice fields from the lunch canteen at the office

View over the rice fields from the lunch canteen at the office

I also know now that the office canteen doesn’t serve anything but rice and either chicken or fish. On the bright side it is always cooked slightly differently and the salad varies a bit and you either get a drink or fruit depending on the day. It is simple but it is tasty and the hot green salsa is to die for!

Lunch at the office - chicken, rice, a couple of side veggie dishes, bread & a drink or desert

Lunch at the office – chicken, rice, a couple of side veggie dishes, bread & a drink or desert

Speaking of fruit – I eat a lot of it. There’s pineapple and watermelon or mini-bananas for breakfast every morning, there’s fruit for lunch sometimes, and there’s always pineapple and papaya at dinner.

Combine that with the running I’ve started doing and I will be healthy and fit in no time.

Work has been going well, people re very friendly, always greeting me and each other, my immediate colleague was even worried about me not having anything to do on the weekend. I told him I’ve made friends with someone who lived near the hotel and he relaxed. He is very cute fussing about my tea – they don’t really drink tea, just coffee and there aren’t any common kitchen areas so we have been borrowing someone else’s kettle, etc. The lady bringing us the cookies every day got tired and brought us what looks like the company’s cookie stash in a box.

As far as my actual work is concerned it can be quite painful at times because of the slow Internet connection. I have to use all my patience. Connection at the hotel is not in any way better; I can’t really have any Skype calls.

On a completely unrelated note I don’t work in Cotonou, but in Calavi which is about 14km away. Thought I’d just throw that in there!

Come on, don't be shy, talk to me...

