June 22, The End

We all knew it was going to happen at some point – sooner rather than later – but all of us were still taken aback when the decision was finally made. It is now 3.30pm on our third day at Marina Quinched and Mario has already left. Our host, William, kindly gave him a lift to Castro and I accompanied them. I wanted to help Mario with his bags and also have a little walk, change of scenery.

I am now making the last lunch we will have together before I also start packing my bags. I have decided to leave on the 9am bus tomorrow morning. It will be weird and it will take me some time to get used to hostels, backpackers, and constant moving again. Luckily, Mario and I are more or less going in the same direction so we will travel together for a while. I am hoping it will ease the process of acclimatization. It will take me some time to get my head around normal life again and I can’t say I am looking forward to it. Still, as much as I like the sailor’s life I feel that there is more to do. Who knows? Maybe one day I will sail the world with my own boat….
As for the trip…it has been a privilege. I am very grateful to Ian for letting us take part in this adventure and his life. We have learned a lot from him just like we learned a lot among ourselves. Each and every one of us is leaving Persimmon a better person. We have all grown from the experience. It is funny how you learn from people that you never thought had anything to offer. You not only learn from them, but they become their best teachers. An open-mind is the key. Liam was my buddy, Ian was the gate to a different world, and Mario was my teacher. My heart goes to all three of them. I can honestly say that I love them.
Just today as Mario and I were waiting for William to come and pick me up we sat on a bench reminiscing about the last two months and our impressions from the trip. There was stinky Yendegaia with its unconventional couple (the gaucho Jose and his Belgian partner Anemy), there was icy Seno Pia, there were the innumerable picturesque caletas, some quieter than others, there were the williwaws, then there was Bob (the trip wouldn’t have been the same without him), then there were the failed night sails, the starry skies, the whales, the biggest glacier in Latin America (Ventisquero Pio XI), there were the fishermen, there was the open Pacific and the seasickness, and there was of course the time the four of us spent together.
It has been an amazing experience and we are all better people for it. Thank you Ian for giving us this wonderful opportunity and making us part of your life.
Come on, don't be shy, talk to me...

