May 12, Caleta Colwarth

Today was a very short sailing day. We didn’t leave our last anchorage until 11am and it is now 3.30pm and we are already anchored. Still in bed I heard Ian say that we won’t be leaving today or at least not until the afternoon. So I had a lie in, got up and started making pancakes thinking I had plenty of time. I was so happy I was finally going to get my lazy day. My joy didn’t last too long though. Soon, after I’d started cooking, the wind had noticeably died down and Ian suggested we made a run for it. So, I made another couple of pancakes, just enough for a small breakfast for me and a few for the guys to try since they had already eaten breakfast. We sat down, quickly gulped on the small pancakes and soon after it was time to get the boat ready. Mario got me a bucket of water so I could wash the dishes, and once that was done I started tiding up the kitchen. That is when I snapped at Mario a bit. He was urging me to go help him with collecting the shore lines (Liam has hurt his right arm and has been rather immobile for the last few days) and me not particularly happy with the idea of a cold sailing day when I was craving some peace and quiet so badly responded rudely.
– Can I finish washing the dishes, then tidy up the kitchen, brush my teeth and pee for the first time today before anything else?! – I said in a spoiled manner.
– We are not going to rush you, take your time – Ian said.
By the time I was out on deck the guys have pulled up the anchor, released the ropes, and neatly put them into their bags. We were leaving.
Soon after we left the calm waters of the anchorage the wind picked up and luckily it was in our favour. For the next three hours we sailed at a great speed solely pushed by the wind. We didn’t have our main sail up or the genoa, just the stay sale. Imagine the force of the wind.
We enjoyed the beautiful scenery intensified by the struggling sunrays and the wind gusts sweeping the surface of the water and carrying the cloud for hundreds of meters. Since the wind was coming from our side we could feel it a lot more this time. It hit us directly and it felt much colder than it actually was. Despite the strong winds, the waves were rather small since we sailed in a very narrow channel which didn’t let them develop properly and push us around. For the first time since the beginning of this trip we were able to make use of all the spare sailing time, sit inside and read. I was amazed by how calm the boat was despite the roaring winds outside. Mario spent most of his time on the deck every now exclaiming ‘Wow! This is so beautiful!’ urging both Liam and I to run outside and check out the stunning view.
After those three hours of undisturbed sailing the wind turned against us making it impossible to sail. We switched the engine on and motored for about an hour before Ian made the executive decision to call it a day and we headed to a nearby anchorage. It was fun looking for it as the entrance was hidden behind a rock in the middle of the water. It was nearly impossible to spot from about a mile away but it slowly revealed itself as we approached it.
Next step was securing the boat for the night, which meant tying four lines to the shore instead of the usual two plus an anchor. Mario and I got into the dinghy and tied the ropes. Now that we were safe we could eat lunch and wait for the winds to pass.
As I am typing this Liam and Ian are out walking, Mario is taking a nap and I finally got my peace and quiet.
Come on, don't be shy, talk to me...

