Amazon boat travel: The End

We are just a few hours away from Belem – not only our final destination on the Amazon, but also the end of the river itself. As I am approaching of this adventure I thought it would be nice to write down a few things.

First of all – THAT IS IT! I have sailed the entire length of the Amazon and even a bit on the river leading to it. This means: 5 old-fashioned steam boats and 15 days of continuous travel. I have shared boats with cows, chicken, pigs and various cargo. I have slept in hammock surrounded by sweaty adults and screaming children. I have ate the same food on every boat and occasionally got my stomach upset. I got robbed twice. I enjoyed gorgeous sunsets and sunrises full of hope. I marveled at the clear, stary sky at night and enjoyed the wind in my face. I saw the river change from a mellow float to a wavy mess. I gaped at riverside jungle communities and breathed the buzz of the ports. I made friends, played games, chatted afternoons away, wrote stories, read, slept, and all in all had a blast.

I loved river travel despite the few problems on the way. It delivered exactly what I had imagined and more. Every time I got off a boat I felt a bit sad. Now even more so because it is the end of a chapter in my travel adventure. Spending 3+ days on a boat, sharing your life with others got me attached to the boats and to some more than others. Every time I left I was leaving friends, fun, and a careless, peaceful living behind. Yes! I looked forward to a clean shower and a change of clothes but that didn’t lessen the nostalgic feeling. Tomorrow morning I would leave river travel and the Amazon behind to continue my adventure down the Atlantic coast of Brazil and into Rio de Janeiro.

Come on, don't be shy, talk to me...

